Nominees for 2012 Kathi Goertzen Coug of the Year

Photo courtesy KOMO

Your esteemed CougCenter authors will cut this list in half at a Google Plus hangout tomorrow before the vote is given to the people.

We're nearing the end of yet another year on the beautiful campus of Washington State University. It has been an unusually busy year amongst the rolling hills of the Palouse. What with the media frenzy surrounding the hiring of Mike Leach leaking over into the next calendar year, the completion of the Cougar Football Project, approval of the Football Operations Building and a postseason run for all the Zebra pens, we've had plenty to talk about.

As we close out the year, it's time once again to hand out CougCenter's most illustrious and only award. But there have been some changes to how we name a winner this year.

Instead of doing this bracket style, we're going to start with a list of 10 candidates (we'll get to those in a bit). Tomorrow at 7:00 p.m., you're cordially invited to a Google Plus Hangout where the CougCenter authors will slim the list down to five finalists. From there, we'll do a post on each of the finalists as we sing their praises and make a case for each one to win the award. Finally, we'll open up the voting to the general Cougar public for 48 hours to select a winner.

You may also have noticed one other change. The award has been named after one of the greatest Cougs to ever pass through the hallowed halls of Washington State University. If you're unfamiliar with Kathi Goertzen, she was an anchorwoman for KOMO in Seattle for over two decades and for nearly 15 years, continually fought persistent brain tumors all while sharing her journey of healing with the world. Kathi passed away in August, losing a battle with brain tumors none of us thought the tumors would win. As usual, Brian sums it up perfectly with his piece on Kathi. I can't remember a time when an entire university in addition to a city and region felt such a collective sadness. For that reason and so many more, we thought nothing would be more fitting than to name our Coug of the Year award for Kathi.

In no particular order, here are your nominees for the 2012 Kathi Goertzen Coug of the Year award:

Travis Long

Elson Floyd

Taylor Ard

Jeff Tuel

Keidane McAlpine

Bill Moos

Steve Gleason

Andrew Furney

Brock Motum

The Fireball Chugger

Tomorrow, we'll cut the list down to five finalists in our Google Plus Hangout. We hope you can join us.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join CougCenter

You must be a member of CougCenter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at CougCenter. You should read them.

Join CougCenter

You must be a member of CougCenter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at CougCenter. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.