clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cougar Basketball Fun Fact No. 15

In our continuing effort to look forward to better days, we'll be bringing you one fun fact about the Cougar basketball team (almost) each day until the season officially tips off on Nov. 15. Some will be silly, some will be serious, but all will be vital to your knowledge as a Cougar basketball fan.

Did you know ...

... since the McDonald's All-American game started being played in 1977, WSU is the only Pac-10 school to not have landed a McDonald's All-American player? Even Arizona State has one -- Byron Scott in 1979.

Here's a breakdown:

School Number Notables (Year)
UCLA 28 Baron Davis (1997), Don MacLean (1988)
Arizona 15 Mike Bibby (1996), Sean Elliott (1985)
USC 7 O.J. Mayo (2007), Rodrick Rhodes (1992)
Stanford 6 Brook Lopez (2006), Casey Jacobsen (1999)
Oregon 4 Aaron Brooks (2003), Luke Ridnour (2000)
California 3 Shareef Abdur-Rahim (1995), Jason Kidd (1992)
Oregon State 3 Corey Benjamin (1996)
Washington 2 Spencer Hawes (2006), Jon Brockman (2005)
Arizona State 1 Byron Scott (1979)

Hat tip to