clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Crimson and Gray WSU spring football game set for April 20 in Spokane

New, 22 comments

The spring practice schedule features 15 workouts starting March 21 and finishing April 23.

William Mancebo

Basketball season just came to a close, which really only means one thing to WSU fans: It's football season! (Actually, it's spring football time. But it's pretty much the same thing, right?)

WSU released its spring football schedule today, complete with confirmation that the Crimson and Gray game will take place at 2 p.m. on April 20 at Spokane's Joe Albi Stadium, site of last season's spectacularly attended -- by WSU standards, anyway -- spring scrimmage. The first workout will be this Thursday at 3 p.m.

Last year, the main intrigue was a chance to see Mike Leach's famed Air Raid in action for the first time. This year, the focus of most fans' attention will be in one place only: The quarterback battle between junior Connor Halliday and redshirt freshman Austin Apodaca.

Halliday's struggles with accuracy were well documented last season, and since the backup quarterback is sometimes the most popular player on the team, fans are anxious to see what Apodaca can do after spending his first fall running the scout team.

There will be other key storylines that you'll see surface during the spring -- how the offensive line comes together will be a big one -- but for now, here's the schedule in case you want to make plans to catch a workout.

Thursday, March 21 3 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 TBD
Tuesday, March 26 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 28 3 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 TBD
Tuesday, April 2 3 p.m.
Thursday, April 4 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 TBD
Tuesday, April 9 3 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 TBD
Tuesday, April 16 3 p.m.
Thursday, April 18 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 20 2 p.m. (Crimson and Gray Game at Joe Albi Stadium, Spokane)
Tuesday, April 23 3 p.m.