clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Cougs named to All Pac-12 Teams

None of WSU’s offensive lineman were named to the first and second team which comes as a big surprise.

NCAA Football: Washington at Washington State James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

The Pac-12 released their conference football awards today with WSU senior wide receiver Gabe Marks being named to the first team offense for the second straight season. Safety Shalom Luani also earned first team honors in his final season in Pullman. Junior quarterback Luke Falk was also named to the second team a season after earning first team honors with former Cal quarterback Jared Goff. Sophomore defensive lineman Hercules Mata’afa was also named to the second team defense.

Curiously though, no WSU offensive lineman were named to either the first or second team. This despite the fact that left guard Cody O’Connell is an Outland Trophy finalist and right tackle Cole Madison was named the best tackle in college football by Pro Football Focus. (Aside: how cool is it to be here with our offensive line compared to just a few years ago?)

Madison and O’Connell were named to the honorable mention list, along with center Riley Sorenson, River Cracraft, Jamal Morrow, and Peyton Pelluer.

Washington led all teams with six players on the first and second team offensively, including Jake Browning who was named the Offensive Player of the Year. They also led the defensive teams with seven total players. Adoree Jackson earned Defensive Player of the Year honors while his teammate and quarterback Sam Darnold was named freshman of the year. Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre was named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, much to the pleasure of Gary Andersen I’m sure.